Go to the page content Go to the menu

OceanTech awarded the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year

OceanTech's CEO Bernt Schjetne has been awarded the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year in the Mid-Norway region.

"This award is a significant honour that acknowledges OceanTech's achievements and growth over the last five years. Our customers' faith in us has been instrumental, and together, we have turned the impossible into reality," Bernt Schjetne, CEO of OceanTech stated.    

Since 2002, more than 1,300 entrepreneurs have participated in the Norwegian EY Entrepreneur Of The Year (EOY) program, which is part of EY’s global award program in recognition of entrepreneurship. Nominated entrepreneurs and businesses share a commitment to fostering growth, value creation, and employment opportunities. OceanTech, founded in 2017, stands as a testament to this commitment. Within just five years, we built a turnover exceeding 100 million NOK, showcasing remarkable growth from our humble beginnings.

"During this period, we have not only advanced world-class technology, but also undertaken what we consider to be the most demanding projects on offshore installations," Schjetne added.

OceanTech represented the Mid-Norway region in the national final in Oslo alongside E.A. Smith and SafeBase. This year’s national winner, Sleipner Motor, will proceed to compete for the world title in Monaco in June.

"I would like to congratulate Ronny Skauen and Sleipner Motor, and also acknowledge the many incredible entrepreneurs and businesses making contributions in their fields. I am genuinely impressed by Norwegian businesses, and in particular their technological advancements and innovations, which merit more recognition than they currently receive in the media. EY plays a crucial role in highlighting these successes," Schjetne concluded.

About EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 

The world's largest growth creator program, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year, is now in its 22nd year in Norway and is being organised for the 37th time internationally. It is a global program designed to inspire active owners towards further growth and value creation. The purpose is to highlight and honour individuals who contribute ideas, invest capital, and put in personal effort to create lasting values and jobs. Independent juries nominate finalists and winners both nationally and internationally.

Recent national winners include: Kjetil Trædal Thorsen of Snøhetta AS (2022), Jonas Helmikstøl of Easee AS (2021), and Henrik Badin of VOW ASA (2020).

For more information, please visit www.ey.com.